top of page

Farewell Blog--the End, New Start

To Tianani Guo:

I like the title of your last blog. It's nice to see you put Killing Us Softly as your first unforgettable memory in this class because the video is also a mind-blowing piece to me. Since we are from the same country, I can relate to what you said about this topic in our lives, seems like we don't see much gender discrimination in our country's advertisings, but the woman figure on the coconut juice YeShu does imply sexism. It's nice to meet you as one of my peer evaluation group mates. You showed me the professional way to design a website and I like your web design so much! Hope we can keep in touch and hope you can succeed in your major!

To Kai Wen:

I feel the same way in many aspects you did and I like how you summed up this class. I was excited to evaluate other peers' film annotations because I always feel amazed that people could see the same film from many different angles! As one of your group mates in making the podcast project, I enjoyed working with you and all of our group members. Although we were a bit rushed at the end (I guess it was because I worried about things too much and added the things at the last minute), I liked our final product! Thank you and for your hard work, it was nice to work with you!

To Runsheng Zheng:

Hi Runsheng! For annotating the films, I was not used to doing so as well! But we were kind of the opposite, I was afraid that I would miss some points so I paused VERY often to annotate. I had to pause many times although I really wanted to enjoy watching the film. However, the annotation process helped me explore things that I had never noticed before, which was quite a surprise for me! I am glad that I had you as group mates, thank you for your contribution and humor on the podcast project, keep being a funny person!

To Ruihan Wang:

Can't believe I found you on the first try! We have not worked with each other so we have few interactions, but we did leave comments on each other's posts I remember. Your website is so cute, I guess that's the reason why I selected the correct link in the portfolio index. Do you mean hook when you say the first sentence in the intro paragraph? I agree with you that it's not easy to produce the sentence, I think it requires your creativity, and reading will help you a lot in my perspective! Thank you for making your website so adorable, it's nice to meet you!


To Chengheng Lyu:

Hi Chengheng! It's nice to see you have all the required pages on your website now! The last time we met for the evaluations, you put the pages as blog posts. I am glad that you revised it; it looks pretty good now, you must put in a lot of work in redoing it! The time zone difference is really annoying, you should have signed up for the meeting in the evening (PDT), which is 11 am in our time zone! But you have made it through! I can see your growth in the last few days in the quarter, nice to have you as my peer review groupmates!

To Zebang Xia (Abe):

Hi Abe! I remember we met each other because we were both a bit nervous about this class in the beginning! But we have made it through! For your problem about word choice, I have the same problem as well. I guess that's because we learn most of our vocabularies by rote memorization as non-native speakers, we don't quite understand how we should use the words in the correct context. I think massive reading can help to solve this problem! It's great to have you as my classmate in this class! Hope you succeed in the future study at UCI!


This is my first year at UCI, the remote learning environment changes my college experience as a freshman! Although I worked and collaborated with my classmates efficiently, I feel sad for not being able to in-person communicate with them. One of the reasons why I and my classmates in this class could communicate in a quick and convenient way was because we all use the same social media--WeChat; in other classes where we had classmates from different countries, communications were less effective. The process of making the podcast project helped me to become an all-around better communicator to some degree, because I got to not only text my group mates but also had voice calls and zoom meetings. It made me understand that we need to step out of our comfort zone in this all-online environment for better communication because not everyone is comfortable with voice or video calls. This writing class gives me a fun experience because we have a chance to produce multimedia projects, I learned a lot through this class!




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page